About Us

Who We Are

Franklin Elementary PTA is an inclusive parent-teacher organization that strives to connect parents, staff and community members, so that together, we can do good things for kids and positively impact our families. We want all families to be informed and active members of the Franklin Elementary STEAM Magnet community. We conduct activities such as family engagement programs, student assemblies, parent education programs, school spirit promotion and community outreach. Members vote on the direction of the organization and elect the Executive Board each year (membership is $10 annually and open to all). Our school PTA is a 501c3 nonprofit organization and is part of the nation's oldest and largest child advocacy group, the National PTA.

Who We Serve

Franklin Elementary PTA engages, empowers and advocates for families of Franklin Elementary STEAM Magnet in the Kensington neighborhood of San Diego, CA. 

2022-23 Executive Board

President: Shannon Brown

Vice-President Volunteering: Open

Vice-President Membership: Open

Treasurer: Elizabeth Phillips

Secretary: Traci Potter

Financial Reviewer: Wyatt Buttrose

Historian: Amy Wood

Parliamentarian: Open

Principal: Tamara Allen-Muhammad

Teacher Reps: Sarah Atallah and Anna Duncan

Franklin Elementary PTA History

Franklin Elementary PTA was founded by parents, staff and community members during the 2014-15 school year. 

Grants & Awards

2018:  Grand Prize & 1st Prize Kids Organizations—Kensington Holiday-at-Home Memorial Day parade

2018-19: National PTA Be Internet Awesome Digital Safety National PTA Grand, sponsored by Google

2018-19: National PTA 2019-21 School of Excellence Award

2020-21: National PTA Covid-19 Phase 2 Emergency Grant, sponsored by TikTok

2020-21: National PTA Continuance Grant, sponsored by Mathnasium

2020-21: National PTA 2020-22 School of Excellence Award

2021-22: San Diego Unified Council of PTAs Micro Grant for National PTA Day of Service

2022-23: National PTA Family Reading Experience, sponsored by Office Depot OfficeMax

2022-23: National PTA 2022-24 School of Excellence Award

2023-24: National PTA Healthy Minds Grant, sponsored by The Allstate Foundation

2023-24: San Diego Unified Council of PTAs Ruth Johnson Award 

2024: Grand Prize & 1st Prize Kids Organizations—Kensington Holiday-at-Home Memorial Day parade